Cookie Consent by Privacy Policies website

Dr PennyStock Forum

Author Topic: Trading for a living?  (Read 5564 times)

April 03, 2012, 08:33:36 PM
Read 5564 times

Robert Paulson

Is trading for a living a realistic goal? Maybe not quite for a living, but is it realistic to think that with practice and enough time spent in the market, it'd be possible to consistently trade to make enough money to support myself in college? I'm not talking about paying for college or anything like that, just food, rent, fun and whatnot. I'm very new to the stock game, so I kind of want to see how involved I can get with it if I choose to do so.

So basically, what has your experience been or do you know people who successfully trade and make a decent living doing so?

April 03, 2012, 08:46:19 PM
Reply #1

cbenitez

Day trading is probably going to be the way to go here Rob. It will, however, take up a lot of your time as you will have to enter and exit positions all within the same day. I had a friend who was a day trader up until the financial collapse of 2008. Also, for most brokerage firms such as ETrade you'll need a $25,000 marginal account to start day trading, not sure if you have these funds but as a college student, I can't imagine you do since you want to make money to support your daily living. Other than that, you'll have to rely on some big plays if you're not actively day trading. PaulPaulPaulPaul (Paul4x) who is a member of this forum is also a college student, I believe so he will be a very good resource for you. Good Luck to you.

April 03, 2012, 08:52:52 PM
Reply #2

PaulPaulPaulPaul

Thanks CB that was nice of you to say!  I am indeed also a college student, but, I think the lessons learned from this forum will be used much more than my current classes will be ;)

Also, I do not know as much as many other members on these forums (especially the Doc and Vegas), but, if I think I can help you I will!

Edit -