Cookie Consent by Privacy Policies website

Dr PennyStock Forum

Author Topic: Taxes?  (Read 9536 times)

February 26, 2008, 02:25:11 PM
Read 9536 times

Aaron

Ok, so I already know that my business gets raped on taxes to begin with from our wonderful government.  How does it work with stocks?  Am I correct in saying that every time you pull a stock (with a profit) that regardless if it is put back into something right away it is taxed?  So lets say I bought BHWF last week, it just pulled me a 77%  profit return and I took that out and divided it up between other stocks.  Am I taxed on that the net profit?  The answer is probably yes but I just wanted to get investors answers since I am new to this.

I'm sure the losses and profits will weigh one another out if they are about equal, but how do you avoid giving all your money to the government if you don't have some sort of retirement acct setup?  that is if all you have is gains and little loss.

February 26, 2008, 03:23:28 PM
Reply #1

Dr PennyStock

Administrator
Here in Germany you pay 52% of the net profit, I pay a LOT of money every year, don't know in other countries.
Dr PennyStock

February 26, 2008, 03:26:29 PM
Reply #2

Chris_Ben

How do you avoid paying taxes?  Is that a serious question?  If you ever figure it out, let me know!!   ;D  Anyway - here is what the IRS says about capital gains:

Capital gains and losses are classified as long-term or short-term, depending on how long you hold the property before you sell it. If you hold it more than one year, your capital gain or loss is long-term. If you hold it one year or less, your capital gain or loss is short-term.

Net capital gain is the amount by which your net long-term capital gain is more than your net short-term capital loss.