Dr PennyStock Free Forums
January 24, 2018, 04:43:51 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Greetings from Western Canada  (Read 6026 times)
Shandarr

« on: January 14, 2013, 12:28:08 PM »

Hello folks, just thought i would drop a message here and say hello to everyone, and that i look forward to being apart of this board, I have read alot of the threads here so far and have learned alot however I am very very new to trading and thought i would get my feet wet with penny stocks, will be a while before i can make my first trade as i need to scrape some money together as well as an online program to use. I am thinking of using TD Ameritrade even though i am in Canada, however the Canadian version of this at TD Waterhouse charges $30 bucks per trade if your household assests are less than $50k, far too steep in my opinion, but that does bring a question, as a canadian, am I allowed to use that brokerage and software? are their restrictions on using it for me being a canadian? perhaps some of the other canadians that i have seen on this board can help me out a bit with that, and we can talk back and forth a bit. I would also like to know where i might be able to read up on some of the rules of stock trading, ie: after buying some stock, how long do i have to hang onto it before i can sell it off, or can i sell it off the next day etc. I have a co-worker that trades some stock now and again and he was saying that he has to hang onto it for a month before being allowed to sell it off.